Blog Tour with Giveaway & Review – The Darkness and the Deep (A DI Fleming Thriller) by Aline Templeton

TDAD Banner

Book Cover

Title: The Darkness and the Deep: A DI Fleming Thriller (DI Marjory Fleming #2)

Author: Aline Templeton

Genre: Fiction/Crime Publication

Date: January 7, 2014

Publisher: Witness Impulse, and imprint of HarperCollins

Event Organized By: Literati Author Services, Inc.

Synopsis

A chilling and suspenseful tale, perfect for fans of Susan Hill and Elizabeth George. A lifeboat crashes on the shore of a small fishing village, leaving all three of its passengers dead. A tragic accident—perhaps—but Detective Marjory Fleming is not so sure … The steep decline of the fishing industry has brought a new and bustling drug trade to town. Were the victims in over their heads? Or was this the work of a person so determined to kill one of the crew that he took two innocent lives? The depressed, impoverished community is clamoring for justice, and Fleming is determined to unravel the mystery before the body count rises.

Review by Angela

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.  I tend to gravitate to mystery novels more so than any other genre.  I love a good mystery.  This particular book was good, but I had some issues with it.  One of the first things I had a problem with was the dialect and slang that was used.  It is written in the Scottish lilt and at times it was hard for me to understand what was being said.  Another thing I had issue with was how many characters there were in this story.  It took awhile to get going because of all of the character introductions.  I got frustrated because nothing was happening and I was over 1/3 of the way through with the book!  I feel that some of the characters could have been left out and it wouldn’t have detracted from the story at all.  Other than those things, it was a good read.  I definitely didn’t figure out who the culprit was until it was revealed.  4 books

admin-ajax.phpadmin-ajax.phpadmin-ajax.php

admin-ajax.php

Purchase Links

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

HarperCollins

Add to Goodreads

About the Author

Author Picture

Aline Templeton grew up in the fishing village of Anstruther, in the East Neuk of Fife. She has worked in education and broadcasting and was a Justice of the Peace for ten years. Married, with two grown-up children and three grandchildren, she now lives in a house with a view of Edinburgh Castle. When not writing, she enjoys cooking, choral singing, and traveling the back roads of France.

Connect with the Author: Blog | Goodreads

GIVEAWAY

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s